What you need to know about Florida’s right on red law

by Jun 23, 2020Auto Accident, New Laws and Updates

What you need to know about Florida’s right on red law

by Jun 23, 2020Auto Accident, New Laws and Updates

The Things you need to know about Florida's right on red law
The Things you need to know about Florida's right on red law

You are not one to take risks with your life. When behind the wheel, you follow the rules of the road. To do so, you must make it your business to understand them thoroughly.

The rules and laws concerning turning right on a red light are misunderstood by many Floridians. You need not be one of them. Here is what you need to know about right on red laws in Florida.

The Law


1. You must make a complete stop

When you come to a red light (solid or flashing) or to a stop sign, you must come to a complete stop before you reach the marked limit line, enter the crosswalk at the near side of the intersection, or enter the intersection itself.

2. Right-on-red

Florida law does allow you to make a right turn after you stop at the red light. However, you cannot turn right on red if there is a sign that prohibits it. You should always use caution when turning.

3. Left-on-red

You can only turn left after stopping at a red light only if you are on a one-way street and you are turning onto another one-way street. You must observe right-of-way rules and turn with caution.

4. Yellow light

You can enter an intersection while the light is still yellow. However, you cannot speed through an intersection just after the light has turned red.

Consequences of Violating the Law

Most red-light violations are non-criminal infractions in Florida. If you are caught and cited, you will typically have to pay a fine. Fines range between $150 to $275. This includes fines, fees, and court costs. Three demerit points will be added to your driving record. If you accumulate too many points, you may have your license suspended.

When You Are the Victim

Violating the right on red traffic rules does not always end with a relatively benign traffic citation. It can lead to disaster. If you collide with a motorist who disregarded the rules or paid little attention to their surroundings as they turned, then you can hold that person accountable. A Florida collision attorney can help you get justice.

Your Response Matters

Collisions can, in general, be categorized as minor and major. In a minor collision, even one that causes damage to your car, you may be lucid and mobile enough to interact with the other driver and take other actions that will help build a case against them later.

Here are some of the things you should do:

1. Take control of the scene

You should be the one who calls emergency services. You can make the call while exiting your vehicle to go and check on the other driver. The operator will ask you to give them details on the condition of everyone involved in the accident. You should do so with as much clarity as you can.

You should also exchange information with the other driver. There is no reason at this point to assign blame or accept any. And do not allow yourself to be drawn into a debate with the driver over who was at fault.

2. Tell the police what happened, but protect yourself

When the police arrive, they will ask you questions about the events that led to the accident. You should answer them honestly. But you do not have to say anything that puts you at fault for the crash. If the officer presses you on a point, you can tell them that you would prefer to speak to your lawyer before answering their question.

3. Get witness statements

You should canvass the onlookers to find out who witnessed the accident. If you find witnesses, ask if you can record them on your cell phone. This is often the best kind of witness statement. Make sure you get the contact details of every witness you interview.

4. Take photos and videos

You should take photos and videos of the scene and damage done to your vehicle, and the damage done to the other vehicle. Be sure not to take any video of anyone without their permission.

5. Seek medical attention

You should go to the hospital even if there are no obvious signs of injury. You must do so to be sure that you are in-fact not injured. You must also be seen by a medical professional to get documentation. You may need this for any legal action you may want to take in the future.

6. Hire a lawyer

You should hire a lawyer to ensure that you are fairly compensated by the insurance company of the other driver. You should be reimbursed for repair costs and any other expenses or losses you suffered because of the accident. A lawyer will help you get this money.

Taking Serious Action After a Serious Accident

In a serious accident, your injuries may be severe enough to send you to the hospital. You may need to undergo extensive and invasive surgeries and other medical treatments. You may also require a long period of rehabilitation. While you are on your back, the bills will continue to add up. You will also need to pay for the treatment and medication you received.

If the accident left you with a disability, you may be forced out of your livelihood. You may also need money for live-in care and other costs related to your condition. Being in such a situation can put you and your family under tremendous strain and stress. It is not the kind of thing that you should deal with alone—especially if the accident was the result of someone who neglected to follow traffic rules.

Retaining the services of a Florida collision attorney will help you get the money you need to recover from your injuries and rebuild your life. You need an attorney with deep insight into Florida’s car accident laws. You need someone with the skill and competence to build a case against the person whose recklessness turned your life upside down.

Justice For You and Your Family

What does justice look like in this case? The answer is simple: money. Florida car accident law gives you the right to claim damages from anyone whose action or inaction has caused you material harm. The main aim of your attorney will be to get you the highest settlement possible from the other driver’s insurance company.

That is why you must speak to an attorney before you make any statement or sign any document proffered by an insurance company. Indeed, you should leave all communication with the other party to your lawyer. This is the easiest way to avoid doing anything that could jeopardize your case.

One of the first things your lawyer will do is establish the value of your case. This is the dollar amount that you are entitled to receive. To establish this figure, your lawyer will speak to the medical professionals who treated you and review their records. They will also speak to your family to determine the emotional and psychological effect your injury has had on them.

Your lawyer will also investigate the accident. They will employ professionals to interview witnesses and collect any video camera footage of the scene before, during, and after the accident. Your attorney will also bring in accident reconstruction experts who can use forensic evidence to show what actually happened.

Your lawyer will use all these statements and facts to pressure the insurance company to offer an out-of-court settlement that is commensurate with all that you have suffered.

If you have been harmed in an accident caused by someone who broke the red light laws, then you should contact a Florida collision attorney.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Skip to content